The Mutt’s Nuts

Where religion is about as attractive as a two week holiday in Afghanistan

No tomorrows

leave a comment »

I was thinking this afternoon about the fact that, as far as we know, death is the end of our existence. As a Mormon, I used to believe in an after life where I could be reunited with my family; but understanding that, in all likelihood, there is no life after death, gives everything a totally different perspective.

For a start, it makes this life and the time spent with loved ones more precious than ever before. Knowing that I could walk out of the door in the morning and never see the people that I love most in the world again, makes me want to savour every moment we’re together, listen more carefully to their conversation, hug them more, spend all the time I can with them, and never fail to let them know how much they mean to me.

Instead of living my life in preparation for some future existence, I want to squeeze every drop of life and love out of the here and now. What a waste if I had always lived for a heavenly tomorrow and squandered my priceless todays!

IslaSkye

Written by islaskye

October 11, 2007 at 5:58 pm

Leave a Reply

